1 (edited by Zam478 2009-01-21 23:43:17)

Topic: [SOLVED] OPIE Linux on Palm Tungsten E2 With GParted [SOLVED]

Hello,
I'm new at this so I don't know if I'm in the write section to post this, but...
I've been trying to make 3 partitions on a 245MB SDHC card ( FAT16 - 2 MiB, linux-swap - 60 MiB, and ext2 - 100 MiB) and the website suggested GParted. I am running Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 and have downloaded the GParted Live .ISO file. What I'm wondering is how to burn it to a CD as an Image file and then how to run it off of the CD. Should I be using a special software to burn it (I'm using the burning software that comes with XP, should I be using something like Nero?)
If anybody could help me I would REALLY appreciate it!!!
~ Zam478 ~
P.S. If I haven't mentioned before, I need GParted becuase I need to make 3 partitions for an SD card so I can port Linux to my Palm Tungsten E2. I have googled other partition software, but I have found none and the website with instructions on how to port the Linux said "using a program such as GParted". Thanks again!

One day Microsoft and Apple will settle their differences and create one company named Applesoft. Then again, maybe Microsoft will go bankrupt, but I'll let you decide which one you think will happen.

Re: [SOLVED] OPIE Linux on Palm Tungsten E2 With GParted [SOLVED]

Hi!

You're right, you must burn this ISO image as an image file. I don't know if the Windows XS burning function can handle this task; Nero can definitiely, and the several free CD burning tools around (CDBurnerXP, DeepBurner, ...) should also be able to do so. Unfortunately, there's no general rule for how these tools are operated, so you'd best refer to the documentation that came with your tool of choice (ofr is available on the project's web site).