Topic: My experience with GPartEd...heartstopping moments yet finally love :)

Heya All,

First off, let me say THIS TOOL ROCKS!! Thanks to everyone involved with its creation and support.

I am posting this to detail my experience with GPartEd, which was NOT trouble free nor without a few moments I would describe as "heartstoppers" in order to allow others to get an idea of what to expect.

I am a professional IT Consultant, owner of my own business. I have a client, a publishing house, that had a major server with a common issue: It came from the OEM (Gateway in this case) with a too-small system partition. Coming in late on this server, the bad was done and the server needed to either be rebuilt, or have its partitions resized. As this is a major provider of services (web based) to clients of my client and had numerous "custom" things done to it with little or no documentation, I chose to resize the partitions with GPartEd. Note that the client has a complete in-house backup solution which I could also use to rebuild the server, so I did have an "ace-in-the-hole" so to speak should it come to that.

The hardware:

Gateway 975 series, 3 HDD in RAID 5 on an LSI MegaRAID controller

The OS:

Windows 2K3 SP2

The Partitions:

C:\ 17.5GB with 140MB free (NTFS)

D:\ 255GB with 215GB free (NTFS)

The Software:

GPartEd LiveCD version 0.3.4-8 (latest as of this writing)

The Task:

Take 40GB off of drive D: and put it onto drive C:

Part 1: Install Safety Net
I am old and have learned my lessons. I will NOT operate without a net! Therefore I make a full and complete backup of the server immediately before I operate on it. I make sure my Disaster Recovery CD's and files are 100% good-to-go. I also did a defrag on drive D:, but since drive C: has only 140MB free Windows won't defrag it. Gotta go with what you got sometimes and also, I am making C: bigger, not smaller, so the data on it should be untouched I figure...so I am not afeared o' that!