1 (edited by craig_kidwell 2022-11-29 09:12:41)

Topic: Formatting using GParted Live / Different sizes

Hi,

I am new to this software and so far it's looking very useful. However, I have a few questions regarding formatting disks.

When I format (NTFS) my 16GB USB flash drive using Windows DiskPart (using the cmd "format fs=ntfs quick"), the disk properties within Windows 10 shows that 44.0MB as used space. When I take the same USB drive to view properties in GParted, it shows that 40.08MB is used.

If I do this process the other way, where as I use GParted to format NTFS, it will show 64.89MB used space within GParted properties, and then by taking the same USB drive to view in Windows, the disk properties shows 86.2MB used space.

Similar results arise from formatting using FAT32 as well. Using Windows to format the USB Drive, it shows 32KB used space in Windows, and in GParted the same drive shows 16.03MB used space.

Why is this happening? I have always used Windows and am starting to get interested in Linux based operating systems, so the understanding is not quite there yet. I have also tried this on a 250GB external SSD drive and they show file size differences too.

Also, is a format using Gparted supposed to be the same as "quick format" in Windows?

Your help and advise will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
CraigK

Re: Formatting using GParted Live / Different sizes

Really. I don't think I have answers to all your questions.

The actual ntfs version is 3.1, and this since October 2001. Perhaps the general filesystem specification didn't change since then, however even the Microsoft implementations in its various OSs (user or serer versions) weren't the same, each OS version including its own features.