1 (edited by leo 2021-12-02 18:31:37)

Topic: gparted should explicitely asks user to choose which partition to work

Hello,

I would like to share my user experience with gparted. Not my general experience (I've been using it on and off for over a decade), but what I experienced today.

disclaimer

• My intent with this post is to useful give feedback

• I do NOT intend nor want to get help on how to handle the problem I encountered.

• I am not blaming anyone but myself

context

To give some context, even though I use macOS as my primary operating system, I have been using linux for over 10 years and it was my only operating system for a couple of years. I am comfortable with using the terminal and computers in general. I have used gparted for over 10 years, off and on, as mentioned.

I still managed to do something stupid, something that I think could be avoided by slightly changing the way gparted displays information.

what I have done

I plugged a external hard drive that I wanted to work on.
I opened gparted, the erased all the partitions on the disk.
I clicked "apply".
There were some information messages i did not read.
So now the disk seems to have all the partitions erased as requested.

the problem i encountered

BUT… the disk I was working with was not the one I intended to work with. It was the « sda » disk that is I think displayed by default. The disk my laptop boots on and whch is hosting all the data on this computer.

the consequences