Topic: Device > attempting to recover data.

I'm new to data recovery and gparted. If this has been answered elsewhere please point me gently in the right direction.

I am attempting to recover data from a 1000 Gbyte connected to by usb3 to a system running Linux Mint 19.3.

On the gparted screen the disk shows as "unallocated 931GiB"

at the bottom of the screen it shows "searching for filesystems on /dev/sdg  (which is correct) with a "green" bar
moving from side to side.

It has now been running for approx 18 hours. Is it working and I'm just being impatient or isn't it?

If it is running is it possible to give a rough estimated as to how long it will take. Would
it be better to close it down and try another program. If yes, recommendations please.

Re: Device > attempting to recover data.

Device > Attempt Data Rescue is using the gpart (repository) command line tool to scan the disk looking for file systems and guessing partition boundaries.  Unfortunately it doesn't provide feedback on progress and is known to be very slow.

I did a quick test of gpart on the command line.  On a small 7.46 GiB test drive that my machine can read in 1m19s (97 MiB/s), gpart takes 11m22s (11 MiB/s) to scan.  If my drive was 931 GiB, the same size as yours, it would take gpart ~24 hours to scan it.

Be very patient.

It might be that Device > Attempt Data Rescue isn't the best way to recover your lost data.  Do you know (approximately) what partitions / file system types the drive contained, and how it came to be lost?

mfleetwo wrote:

I did a quick test of gpart on the command line.  On a small 7.46 GiB test drive that my machine can read in 1m19s (97 MiB/s), gpart takes 11m22s (11 MiB/s) to scan.  If my drive was 931 GiB, the same size as yours, it would take gpart ~24 hours to scan it.

Be very patient.