Topic: Boot GParted from HD with Grub2

I'm using Ubuntu, and have installed, setup, and dual-booted countless Linux systems with no problems.  I also know how to mount partitions, set up grub, etc.  So, I'm not a newbie, FWIW.

So, I decided to try out the latest GParted (0.22.0-1 on AMD 64-bit), and I thought having a bootable version would be nice for those times I need to modify my running system.

First, I tried the zip file.  I installed it on a small partition, and checked it by mounting it in a temp directory, and all looked well.  I added the necessary lines to grub2, checked the grub.cfg file, and it looked good.  But when I tried to boot, it immediately did a reboot.  I tried the trouble shooting of using "radeon.modeset=x", as well as "nomodeset", but nothing changed.

Next, I downloaded the iso, and tried that.  At first, I got the same results.  I checked the Ubuntu site with examples for booting isos, and found an example for an older gparted, so I tried using that with no luck.  Then I used the original suggestion from the gparted site, but modified it in one place where it was differrent: I specified the boot partition on the loopback line to say "loopback loop (hd0,gpt1)$isofile" (my boot disk is gpt formatted).

This booted, but will not run X.  I've tried everything I can think of, setting various options and screen resolutions, but I always get a black screen with a flashing text cursor in the upper left.

I have an AMD Radeon HD 5450, which usually works with everything I've tried without anything special.

Should I give up now, or later? :-)

Re: Boot GParted from HD with Grub2

Does the .iso image boot on your computer from a USB flash drive, or from CD/DVD media?

3 (edited by randomuser 2015-03-29 00:00:27)

gedakc wrote:

Does the .iso image boot on your computer from a USB flash drive, or from CD/DVD media?