1 (edited by Preroll 2012-08-15 19:50:56)

Topic: [SOLVED] Re-enable MSFTRES flag?

I'm a newbie so bare with me.

I would like to know if it is possible to manually restore the MSFTRES flag within a partition.  I have a drive that has four partitions and one of them (SDA2), is unknown by GParted but the flag is set as MSFTRES.  Now I know this is the 128MB Microsoft Reserved partition for converting basic to dynamic disks but I don't want Windows to create it from a fresh install.  I want to manually create the four partitions with the correct flags and then do a restore from Clonezilla.  Is this possible or am I way off base here?

Thanks.

Re: [SOLVED] Re-enable MSFTRES flag?

When GParted is used with libparted 2.0 or higher then it can set and remove the msftres flag on a partition.
See Bug 518439 - Removal of msftres flag.

Hence this feature should work with the latest GParted Live image.

I'm using Parted Magic which includes GParted 0.13.1.  However, I still cannot manage flags to get the msfrtes option.  I think I'm missing a piece of the puzzle here.  Sorry for the newbie questions but I'm stuck.

Thanks.

The MSFTRES option is only available with GUID Partition Tables (GPT).  Perhaps you are looking at a drive with the MSDOS Partition Table (MBR)?

You can check by using the "View --> Device Information" menu option to see the partition table type.

gedakc wrote:

The MSFTRES option is only available with GUID Partition Tables (GPT).  Perhaps you are looking at a drive with the MSDOS Partition Table (MBR)?

You can check by using the "View --> Device Information" menu option to see the partition table type.

I think you're right.  The drive that is reporting the partition with the MSFTRES flag is an SSD drive that has GPT tables.  I was looking to recreate the same thing on a regular raw drive.  I'll have to investigate further.

Thanks.

Preroll wrote:
gedakc wrote: