Topic: help needed with project - bug found?

*I have posted under general development but i think this is the right forum - i use 0.52.11 live beta*

Hello all! I am a student in Aristotles University in Greece, computer science department. I have a project where i need to find an open source application and do either of the following 2.
a) write a Software Requirements Specification document, where, in general, you list and explain all the functions that a program does,
b) find unsubmitted bugs for a program, submit them, contribute to the community, and see your bugs being fixed in the next version, or simply being acknowledged.
I started doing (a), and because I am not so good with Linux, i tried it on my Windows 7 machine. I used latest version 0.52.11 livecd and booted off my computer with it. I think i found some bugs with the app. Or, you tell me if they are indeed bugs or not!
First, the computer . Its an AMD phenom II X4, Gigabyte motherboard with SB750 southbridge, 4 GB ram. I have BIOS RAID 0 in my computer (done with the sb750 southbridge) with 2 Samsung Spinpoint 500 GB each. 3 partitions made in that RAID, 100MB for windows 7 boot, 292 and 638 GB.
Once i loaded gparted, it recognized the partitions correctly, but with an exclamation mark warning, which i think means that i cannot do anything to them and something is wrong. The controller has a name like AMD 2+0 Striped or something like that in windows environment. the name of the raid drive in gparted is /dev/mapper/pdc_hffgdfec. when i right click on any of those partions and select Information, it shows: the device  /dev/mapper/pdc_hffgdfec doesn't exist. ntfsresize error(2). failed to check  /dev/mapper/pdc_hffgdfec1 mount state: no such file or directory. probably /etc/mtab is missing. unable to read contents....ntfsprogs required.