1 (edited by TwinMOS 2009-09-14 00:38:47)

Topic: [HELP] Vista NTFS ntfsresize goes wrong

Hello...

As you can see Im a noob here. Im looking for some expert help!...

Im working to migrate from VISTA to FC 11 on my LAPTOP, SAMSUNG R70.

Everything goes right until I use the ntfsresize linux command, to resize my old VISTA partition at minimal space until use ntfsclone with gzip to backup, to an USB drive teh whole partition in case of need later.

I first backup my working mbr using dd, and the partition layout using dd as well.

Here are the original working dd image files for MBR and LAYOUT:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mayznzzkd … up-sda.mbr
http://www.mediafire.com/file/mitnuynnjcf/backup-sda.sf

Ok..so, after that I use ntfsresize -i to know the new size to enter to be acepted for sda1 (NTFS), after use -n -s to test without writing and after NO ERRORS, apply the new size with ntfsresize as well. the old sda1 partition was about:

# partition table of /dev/sda
unit: sectors

/dev/sda1 : start=     2048, size=305281147, Id= 7
/dev/sda2 : start=305283195, size=   409600, Id=83, bootable
/dev/sda3 : start=305692795, size= 85022720, Id=8e
/dev/sda4 : start=        0, size=        0, Id= 0

The new size to sda1 I have tried to give was +55100M, after ntfsresize snd process I have used fdisk to delete sda1, create sda1 again with start on 1 and end on +55100M and mark as primary 1 (sda1) and type (07) NTFS, check with "p" and write. Until here NO ERRORS!!...

So I go to restart to boot form the new VISTA RESIZED partition, BUT!!! no way!!! boot was impossible!!! black screen...

Again I boot from GRUB to FC11 and check with gparted, and here come my surprise, gparted tell me WARNING!!!!... for NTFS on sda1...

GPARTED:

First sector:     63
Last Sector:     305283194
Total sectors:    305283132
sda1:

WARNING:
$MFT has invalid magic.
ntfs_mft_load(): failed.
Failed to load $MFT: Input/output error.
Failed to mount '/dev/sda1': input/output error.