Topic: Windows Vista Does not boot after Resize

Hi, I am new to this utility.

I am running Windows Vista OS. Since partition Magic 8.0 does not with Vista, and there is not such tool, I used GParted using a boot disk. Here is what I had and what I did.

One Physical disk of 160 GB. I had 2 partitition C Drive of 25 GB and Rest of the size was for D Drive.
I shrunl D Drive by 10 GB and Gave it (Resize) it to C Drive. C Drive contains the Vista (Boot)

The resize operation went well though it took 1.5 hours. After applying the changes,

I an trying to boot the macgine using Vista, But I am unable to do so. I get the first boot screen
(small box)

But it just sits there after intial disk activities for about 20 seconds.

Can someone help please.

Thanks.

Re: Windows Vista Does not boot after Resize

smmehta wrote:

I used GParted using a boot disk.

Since there is no GParted on boot disk, i cant guess how you did !
You'd better try the last beta-iso and see how it goes.
---------> http://gparted-forum.surf4.info/viewtopic.php?id=313

Larry
GParted-project Admin
Former GParted-LiveCD maintainer (2007)

smmehta wrote:

Hi, I am new to this utility.

I am running Windows Vista OS. Since partition Magic 8.0 does not with Vista, and there is not such tool, I used GParted using a boot disk. Here is what I had and what I did.

One Physical disk of 160 GB. I had 2 partitition C Drive of 25 GB and Rest of the size was for D Drive.
I shrunl D Drive by 10 GB and Gave it (Resize) it to C Drive. C Drive contains the Vista (Boot)

The resize operation went well though it took 1.5 hours. After applying the changes,

I an trying to boot the macgine using Vista, But I am unable to do so. I get the first boot screen
(small box)

But it just sits there after intial disk activities for about 20 seconds.

Can someone help please.

Thanks.