Topic: Deleting & Recreating Partitions > Is it Data Distructive?
I am looking to better understand how GParted works.
If I have 3 partitions on a GPT partitioned disk with the first one (sda1) being designated as the EFI system partition:
. . . all have data on them. Can I delete sda2 so that it appears as 'unused' space, and then recreate it with the same size and still be able to access all the data on it, or does the 'unused' space get formatted with the subsequent data that WAS there being lost?
Back in the day I was able to do that with my old faithful program "Ranish Partition Manager 2.43".
I could edit the DOS based MBR directly, with out touching the actual partition. Basically if the system didn't know there was a partition there, the OS wouldn't see it. Re-enter the info into the MBR and it was all accessible again. You do a similar thing by simply "Hiding" the partition with the 'hidden' flag - that doesn't appear to work anymore with GPT partitioned drives.
If someone can tell me how to "Hide" partitions on GPT partitioned disks, I'd like to know.
If we can't delete and re-create partitions in a non-destructive way to the data that might be located in that area of the disk that we are working on . . . could it be done simply by deleting the partition and then, when you'd like to have access to that area back again, use the "Data Recovery" feature of GParted to put the partition back?
If we did you the data recovery option, how long would it take to restore the partition and the access to the data - (Say it was 100GB partition with 80Gb's on it)?
Thanks for the help.