Topic: Copy of NTFS partition is RAW !!!

Hi,

I've been using GParted (on a Parted Magic CD) for several years for backuping full partitions from different computers (all dual boots with Windows XP or 7 on 1 HDD and SuSE or Ubuntu Linux on a second HDD). The copy was performed on different external USB HDD, and everything always worked fine.

Recently, I completely reinstalled my computer after changing only one HDD, all the rest of the hardware remaining identical : a new 1 TB sata drive for Windows 7 instead of a 750 GB sata drive was used, the 750 GB drive being reused for Ubuntu instead of a smaller drive that is not there any more.

The 1st attempt to make a backup copy of all the partitions of the internal sata HDDs to an external 3 TB USB HDD did not work as expected. The copy of the 1 TB NTFS partition was performed in only about 16 minutes by GParted, but it needed 3-4 hours for the 750 GB ext4 partition (both of which are less than 20% full). At the end, GParted said that all tasks had been completed successfully. After mounting the copied partitions on the external HDD in Ubuntu or Parted Magic, both the NTFS and ext4 partitions looked fine (partitions were correctly identified as NTFS and ext4 respectively, and file access was ok on both). In Windows 7 however, the NTFS partition copy could not be acessed and was identified as RAW instead of NTFS. Neither chkdsk nor any other Windows tool could access to this partition, the only option that was given to me was to format it.

Before reinstalling my computer, copying a 750 GB NTFS partition using exactly the same GParted version lasted for 3-4 hours (and not 16 minutes!) and the copied partition would be accessible by Windows 7 without any problem. The only other thing that was different before was the external backup HDD, which was 2 TB instead of 3 TB (but the copy of the NTFS partition was put at the beginning of the disk anyway).